Washington, DC

Earlier this month I ended up taking an impromptu trip to Washington, DC. I’ve always wanted to visit the area and one of my friends lives down there, so it was the perfect chance to not only visit but also get to see the city! I’m super excited that I took my weekend off and went. Not only did I get to see the typical tourist attractions (The Capitol Building, Washington Monument, the Smithsonians, White House, and Cherry Blossom Fest) but I also got to enjoy a gorgeous 80 degree weekend! Perfect!

IMG_0894
IMG_0897
We started the day off by visiting the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum. It was pretty interesting to see so many things within such a small space. It really brought back memories of Space Camp when I was little and a trip to Huntsville, AL.

IMG_0905
IMG_0907
IMG_0912
IMG_0914
IMG_0917
IMG_0922
After that, we headed over to the Capital Building which was absolutely gorgeous that weekend! There were a ton of people in the area (including a graduation of some sort?). Once I got a few photos there, we headed to the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History. After that, we did a lot of walking… My main tip about DC? If you don’t enjoy a good hike to sight see then it’s not the trip for you! Luckily my trusty Toms were perfect and I felt fine afterwards. Anyways, I snapped a few photos during our walk to the Washington Monument! I’m pretty happy with how the photos came out. It was extremely hot (and apparently humid out) so most of my photos came out a little hazy!

IMG_0926
IMG_0928
IMG_0930
Once we finally made our way to the Washington Monument, I got a good view of how far we walked! What a hike, but definitely worth it! I also got a good look at the Lincoln Memorial but we decided that time really did not permit to go there which I was fine with. There’s always next time!

IMG_0933
IMG_0934
IMG_0938
IMG_0940
After the Washington Monument, we decided to stop by the White House since I’d never seen it before and on our way over we found a gorgeous patch of cherry blossoms! It was probably one of more beautiful things I saw all day. Yes, I know I was around some amazing history and architecture but look at the canopy! And to add to the lovely scenery, there were dozens of people under the trees just relaxing, picnicking and enjoying the day.

IMG_0942
Our last stop was the White House! I’ve always heard that it’s super small compare to what you see on tv and that’s not a joke! It’s a pretty average house actually! I guess when you live in a world like ours today, this large house (when it was built) looks like a pathetic building compared to some of the celebrity homes you see! Anyways, it was a beautiful building plus the history of it alone is amazing. The White House was really the last of the DC attractions we went to. After that we ended up going to a little pizzeria a few blocks away, UpperCrust Pizza. It was a tiny little place but the pizza was amazing and their service was great. We decided to duck in for a quick dinner and a drink (after all it was St. Patrick’s Day)! Overall, it was a great trip and I definitely can’t wait to get down there again!

This entry was published on March 31, 2012 at 12:09 pm. It’s filed under nature, personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Washington, DC

  1. Fantastic pictures of the capitol!

Leave a Reply

